Insectum Communis for harpsichord solo

by Ivar Lunde, Jr., Opus 110

Insectum Communis was completed in 1999 and is intended to be performed on a double manual instrument. The language is tonal with occasional bitonal departures. Each of the movements explores the rich tonal qualities of the harpsichord. The music contains programmatic effects describing the featured insect of each movement.

List of movements:

1) Eruca (The Caterpillar)
2) Culex (The Mosquito)
3) Scarabaeus (The Beetle)
4) Papilionis (Butterflies)
5) Blatta (The Cockroach)


Click the arrow above to hear the beginning of Blatta, the last movement of Insectum Communis.

Select Current Catalog for latest price.